A Year of Feminist Classics

Because they're better together :)

Introducing another Year of Feminist Classics

As Iris mentioned in our previous post, we would like to extent the Year of Feminist Classics into 2012. However, the chaos of the holiday season and several life events prevented us from getting organised as quickly as we’d have liked, and as a result we ended up deciding to run the project from February 2012 to February 2013. This will give everyone more time to prepare, and will also prevent us from having to wrap things up amongst the end of the year rush in the future.

There’s another important change in how the project is run: we have invited several other co-hosts to join us. All of them are bloggers we admire and whose perspectives we know will contribute a lot to our discussions, and many were active participants last year. Now that there are more of us, we’ll be working in teams whenever possible to make sure there’s always someone around even if life gets in the way of reading and blogging.

Over the past few weeks, the new team tried to come up with a diverse, well-rounded reading list that addresses some of the gaps and blind spots we found in the texts we read last year. Some of our choices are more recent than the ones from the first year’s list, but we believe they’re all more than important and influential enough to be called classics.

Without further ado, here’s our reading list for the New Year:

  • FebruaryFeminism is for Everybody by bell hooks (Amy)
  • MarchThe Book of the City of Ladies by Christine De Pizan (Jean)
  • AprilWhipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano (Cass)
  • MayJane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë read alongside Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys (Iris)
  • JuneStone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinberg (Emily)
  • JulyLittle Women by Louisa May Alcott (Nancy)
  • AugustThe Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison (Lauren)
  • SeptemberBorderlands/La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldua (Melissa)
  • OctoberThe Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan (Jodie)
  • NovemberBeyond the Veil by Fatema Mernissi (Ana)
  • DecemberWomen, Race, and Class by Angela Davis (Emily Jane)
  • JanuaryFeminism Without Borders: Decolonizing Theory, Practising Solidarity by Chandra Talpade Mohanty (Eva)

We invite you all to think of this project as an informal feminist reading group. You don’t have to commit to joining the discussion every month, but we’d love to hear your thoughts whenever you’re able to. We’re very excited to read these books together, and we hope we’ll have the opportunity to continue to learn from each other and from you.

So, who’s with us? Let us know and we’ll be happy to add you to this year’s participants list. We’d also really appreciate it if you helped us spread the word to other readers.

26 responses to “Introducing another Year of Feminist Classics

  1. Vasilly January 14, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    Count me in! This year will be hectic for me so I’m only joining for The Bluest Eye and The Feminine Mystique. I may join you guys for Borderlands too. :-)

  2. alexandrap529 January 14, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    I would love to be a part of this! Please add me to the participant list.

  3. zhinxy January 14, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    Fantastic! Please add me to the list, and I hope to have the time to actually participate! But will definitely be reading and present in spirit!

  4. Emily January 15, 2012 at 12:03 am

    I was a terrible participant last year, but I promise to do better this year! I’m excited about the books and discussion :)

  5. Becky January 15, 2012 at 12:30 am

    This looks like an interesting list (and several books I have on my to-read wish list), so I’ll try to follow along.

  6. Nerida January 15, 2012 at 1:00 am

    Please include me on the partici

  7. Katrina January 15, 2012 at 4:03 am

    I would like to be added to this year’s list.

  8. Trisha January 15, 2012 at 4:10 am

    I’m in! Well, as often as I can with a new baby! :)

  9. Book Snob Wannabe January 15, 2012 at 5:39 am

    I love this year’s list! However due to my schedule I maybe only be able to participate in a few so I chose Little Women, The Bluest Eye, and Women Race & Class..

  10. Pingback: A Year of Feminist Classics, 2012 « Booked All Week

  11. Nymeth January 15, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Thanks for joining, everyone! And don’t worry about only being able to do a month or two, it’s absolutely fine. As for signing up, there’s no need for anything formal – we’ll just update the participants list on the sidebar, which is still last year’s. But of course even that isn’t really necessary. We want everyone to feel welcome to drop in and out of our discussions as life allows it.

  12. Helen January 15, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    I was disappointed that I didn’t have time to participate in this last year but I’ll definitely try to join in with at least a few of this year’s books!

  13. jessicabookworm January 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    I would love to join for atleast one book during the year, as Jane Eyre is already on my TBR shelf :-)

  14. A Year of Reading My Own Books Blog January 19, 2012 at 1:52 am

    Hi. Great, I would like to join in, thanks for pulling this together! Ruby

  15. Care January 20, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    I wholly support you with all my heart and hopefully with lots of comments as the year continues for this wonderful idea.

  16. Emma January 21, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Great list.

    I’ve read Jane Eyre and shortly after Wide Sargasso Sea. Both excellent. Regarding feminism in Victorian Lit, I recommend Miss Mackenzie by Trollope. (I’ll review it soon)

    I’ll try to join you in July for Little Women, the book has been on my shelf for ages. I’m tempted by The Feminine Mystique too.

  17. Kate January 23, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I’m in! I didn’t manage to comment as much as I wanted to last year, but the project did springboard my reading! Thanks for doing this!!

  18. Christine January 24, 2012 at 2:58 am

    I followed you last year, while busy writing a Master’s research project, so no participation from me! This year…I hope to pitch in. Thanks for providing fuel for the brain & a reason (do we need a reason?!) to dive into these books!

  19. onereadleaf January 25, 2012 at 2:56 am

    Great list! I’m pretty excited about this. Maybe I’ll be a little more timely this year? We’ll see!

  20. Pingback: A Year of Feminist Classics – Reading Challenge 2012 « The Bookworm Chronicles

  21. paige January 30, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    Looking forward to reading books and comments. Reading Feminism Is For Everybody at the moment. Insightful stuff.

  22. MJ February 6, 2012 at 3:34 am

    All right, I’m in :-)

    There are a few on the list that have been on my radar for awhile, so this will be the nudge to get reading.

  23. Sarah February 15, 2012 at 2:50 am

    Belatedly joining in, at least for “The Book of the City of Ladies”, “Jane Eyre”, “Wide Sargasso Sea” and “Little Women”.,

  24. Roof Beam Reader February 24, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    I loved both Jane Eyre & Wide Sargasso Sea – so that should be a great month for you all!

    Also, Borderlands/La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldua is FANTASTIC.

  25. bitcheslovelibraries February 27, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    I’m late joining, but I want to play, too! Great choices; there are a lot of perspectives represented here.

  26. Neta Meltzer July 13, 2012 at 1:51 am

    I just discovered this project about two days ago and I am so excited about it! Hoping to jump right in for the remainder of the year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

