A Year of Feminist Classics

Because they're better together :)

Let’s Talk about The Bluest Eye.

I have a few entries lined up that I’ll be posting throughout the month (so be sure to check back!), but I thought ImageI’d start the conversation about The Bluest Eye by asking about the reaction that you, personally, had to it and the feelings that it inspired in you. 

I was in the final semester of my junior year of college the first time I read The Bluest Eye. I was taking a seminar class that focused on Morrison’s novels, which we worked through in chronological order. As The Bluest Eye is Morrison’s first novel, it was the first thing we read. While I was familiar with Morrison’s work, having read Beloved once in high school and twice in other college-level classes (suffice it to say that I’m never reading it again, even though I enjoyed it), I had never had the opportunity to fully explore her works. I loved the class so much that I wound up writing my undergraduate thesis on her works (which necessitated yet another re-reading of Beloved). While I ultimately didn’t include The Bluest Eye in my thesis, it was my second-favorite book we read that semester after Paradise. 

I know that I am somewhat unusual in that I read The Bluest Eye after a lot of Morrison’s other works. According to many of my friends, both in the book blogging community and in real life, The Bluest Eye is often assigned to high-school age students (14-18, for those of you who aren’t in the US). Have you read it before reading it for this challenge? Did your reaction to it change over time? If you haven’t read it before, what is your initial reaction to it? 

5 responses to “Let’s Talk about The Bluest Eye.

  1. amymckie August 1, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    I haven’t read this book yet and so am really excited for this month’s read, because I’ve been meaning to read Morrison for what seems like ever. I’m looking forward to starting it soon!

  2. Melissa August 1, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    After reading it as a sophomore in college, I’ve long considered this one of my all-time favorite books. It’s devastating – I kept wanting to grab Pecola and hold her. I haven’t read it in ages, so I’m curious to see how it holds up on my favorite books list!

  3. mdbrady August 11, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    The Bluest Eye has long been one of my most favorite books. I read it and taught in my first Women’s Studies class before Morrison had published anything else. I have reread it several times at spaces of 5 to 10 years and each time I have discovered an enriching new level. Only one of its importance is the way it answers the pervasive white myth of how wonderful it was for black domestics to love their employers’ white children more than they loved their own. Melissa Harris Perry has an excellent chapter discussing The Bluest Eye in her Sister Citizen.

  4. onereadleaf August 18, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Just finished reading it. Brutal, but great.

  5. Davis March 5, 2014 at 11:42 am

    Aw, this was a very good post. Spending some time and actual effort to produce a top notch article… but
    what can I say… I put things off a lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

