A Year of Feminist Classics

Because they're better together :)

An Updated Reading List

Hello to all Year of Feminist Classics participants! Ana, Emily, Iris and I are so very happy to have you with us on this journey. It was pointed out to us  by a wonderful blogging friend (thank you Niranjana!) that our list was very Western centric. We made a few changes, and would like to present you with our updated reading list.

January: A Vindication of the Rights of Women by Mary Wollstonecraft AND So Long a Letter by Mariama Ba – Amy
FebruaryThe Subjection of Women by John Stuart Mill and Harriet Taylor Mill – Ana
March: A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen – Emily
April: Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman – Iris
May: A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf – Ana
June: God Dies by the Nile by Nawal Saadawi – Amy
July: The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir – Iris
August: The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston – Emily
September: The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf – Amy
October: Ain’t I a Woman? by bell hooks AND Third World Women and the Politics of Feminism Anthology – Iris
NovemberGender Trouble by Judith Butler – Ana
December: Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde – Emily

It is still heavily focused on Western authors but we have made a few inclusions. There are way too many books and authors to choose from and I have a feeling that we might just have to keep the project going into 2012 😉 If you would like to discuss one of the books we’ve removed from the list don’t fear – we’d still love to read it and discuss it separately perhaps on our own blogs or through email discussions.

29 responses to “An Updated Reading List

  1. Willa December 4, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Good reading list, I am really looking forward to getting started!!

  2. kmcnarywood December 10, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    I am very interested in joining the discussion. I have an ecofeminist blog (www.killingmother.blogspot.com) and would love to participate. How do I sign up for email updates and get myself on the participants list?

  3. Allie December 12, 2010 at 5:48 am

    I’ll be joining you ladies in March and May.

    Ain’t I a Woman is an excellent choice. I read it in college and loved it. 🙂

  4. Bookeater [aka Emily] December 20, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    I’m really excited about this! I’ve read a few of the books and will read along with some of the books you’ve chosen. I was wondering if you could change my link to eatthebooks.com (recently made the move from WordPress.com to WordPress.org!). Thanks!

  5. ellen December 24, 2010 at 10:26 am

    great list updates. i’ve been kind of hovering on the edges for a while, debating signing up – but finally have. i’ll probably only be able to read the “classics” on here (i just mean the books that are in public domain) because i live in macedonia and can’t get ahold of newer books, but i’m looking forward to reading everyone’s thoughts on the books i’m not able to read.

  6. Pingback: A Few January Readalongs | Good Books And Good Wine

  7. Patricia December 29, 2010 at 3:33 am

    I don’t know if I am in the right place to let you know I would like to take part in your reading challenge – the books chosen are just wonderful and I am really looking forward to the group reads.

  8. Becca December 29, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I think this is a cool project. I know you’re getting into some third wave stuff in the last few months, but may I suggest you also post, or recommend that people read, some third wave critiques of the earlier months’ books in the months they are reading them as well? 🙂

    • amymckie December 31, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      Thank you Becca – and yes, we DEFINITELY welcome and want guest posts from whoever is interested! If you want, just send us an email at feministclassics[at]gmail.com

  9. Pingback: 2010 and 2011: The Years in Reading – Rat's Reading

  10. Helen January 1, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Hello! Just found this, and I think it’s a great idea. Lots of books here I’ve always meant to read and never quite managed to, so I’m going to try to join you all this year.

  11. Robyn January 3, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    I just signed up. I’m on hiatus from grad school at the moment, so this gives me good things to read and write on while at home! What a great project, and I look forward to reading everyone’s insights.

  12. Vicki January 7, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    This looks like a great project – I’ve been reading more feminist literature recently but have been looking for something to give me a bit of a structured course so please count me in!

  13. fizzysister January 9, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    What a wonderful idea, count me signed up for the whole list. I’m really looking forward to getting my teeth into them. Although I have been trying to read Vindication for the last year or so, so it’ll be good to have some company, and I’ll hopefully finally finish it!

  14. Shelley January 11, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I’d be delighted to be on the list of potential (or additional) reads.

  15. Pingback: A Doll’s House (review) « The Alcove

  16. Pingback: call to participate: a year of feminist classics | the feminist librarian

Leave a Reply

