A Year of Feminist Classics

Because they're better together :)

Thank You & See You Next Year?

We wanted to thank all of you for participating in the Year of Feminist Classics project in 2011. We know we have not been the greatest hosts, at least 3 out of 4 hosts experienced some difficulties this year and because of this we were absent a lot more than we should have been. Nevertheless, we hope you found this project as fulfilling as we did. Moreover, we hope you will consider joining us next year!

We are still putting the details together and we hope to reorganise a little so as to make the project more workable for all hosts. More details will follow in the upcoming week or so, we are just putting the final touches to the list. In composing it, we have aimed to take your recommendations and comments on the 2011 list in account. If there is anything you think we should consider, be it in books to read or organisation-wise, please feel free to leave a comment.

Again, thank you for joining in on our somewhat messy, but hopefully worthwhile, journey into the works that have defined and changed feminism through the years.

Happy 2012 to all of you!

3 responses to “Thank You & See You Next Year?

  1. Trisha January 1, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    I think you guys did a fantastic job, and I’m sorry I wasn’t able to participate more! I can’t wait to see what you come up with for 2012!

  2. onereadleaf January 2, 2012 at 3:11 am

    First of all: thank you very much for running this! I think I’ve been delinquent every single month, so I don’t know if I can really be said to have participated–and I still haven’t finished Sister Outsider (I will post on it sometime this week)–but I’ve very much appreciated being able to at least see it happen peripherally. I’ll do better next year, I think.

    There are a lot of books I’d love to see next year. Off the top of my head, and in no particular order–

    Whipping Girl by Julia Serano
    Borderlands by Gloria Anzaldúa
    Epistemology of the Closet by Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick
    The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
    The Way we Never Were by Stephanie Coontz (or maybe Marriage: A History, which I would probably prefer as I haven’t read it yet, but I’m not sure we can designate it a classic yet ;))

    and maybe a little fiction, such as:

    The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan
    The Color Purple by Alice Walker
    The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. LeGuin

    There are some more theoretical works that I’m interested in after reading Butler and Beauvoir, but I hesitate to suggest them because I think that some participants get stuck on them and making sense of them really requires some other reading outside the scope of this project.

    I’d also be interested in following up on some of the things that came up in some of the later books that hadn’t been covered in earlier ones. In particular, some of the essays in the Third World Women anthology referred to a conflict between what one author called “sexualism” and a broader political perspective, and I don’t know where else this is discussed but would love to have more works about that included…

    And there was at least one work, possibly more, that I know I was thinking about and cannot remember now. Apologies.

    Anyway, the thoughtful selection of works last year was really helpful; the books recalled each other in very interesting ways and I appreciated that very much, as well as the hosting.

  3. Pingback: Introducing a New Year of Feminist Classics « A Year of Feminist Classics

Leave a Reply

