A Year of Feminist Classics

Because they're better together :)

Presenting A Year of Feminist Classics

A Year of Feminist ClassicsA Year of Feminist Classics is a reading project started by Amy, Ana, Emily Jane and Iris – for more about what motivated us and what our goals are, please visit our About section.

The project will work a little like an informal reading group: for the whole of 2011, we’ll be reading a book a month from this list of classic feminist fiction and non-fiction, and each of us will be in charge of the subsequent discussion for three months.

These discussions will be structured as follows: at the beginning of the month, the host in charge of that month will write an introductory post on this blog, reminding participants of what we’ll be reading and providing some historical context.

Then, later that month, she will post a series of discussion questions and invite readers to use them as points of departure for their own thoughts. You don’t necessarily need to answer these questions when sharing your impressions of the book; you may either integrate them in our post or use another approach altogether (and perhaps add to the discussion by bringing up points the host hasn’t thought of herself). Participants can either join the discussion on the comments section or post on their own blogs, which means you don’t necessarily need to be a book blogger yourself to join in.

Finally, at the end of the month, the host will post her thoughts on the book either here or on her own blog, as well as write a round-up post and collect the links of all the participants who decided to join in for that particular title.

Interested in joining us? Remember that you don’t have to commit for the whole twelve months – you’re more than free to pick only the books you’re interested in. Because we want to encourage interaction between participants, we’ve set up an In Linky where you can sign-up. However, you can join in at any time even if you haven’t signed up beforehand.

We’re also looking for guest posts from participants to enrich this blog. Thinking of writing one? Just e-mail us at feminist classics at gmail dot com. We’d love to hear from you! We’re also interested in any comments or suggestions.

Last but not least, if you think this is a good idea you can always show your support by grabbing our button and spreading the word!

35 responses to “Presenting A Year of Feminist Classics

  1. The Bookeater November 12, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    What a fantastic idea! Some of the books I’ve read on the list (BTW good picks: Judith Butler, Audre Lorde, Marilyn French. etc.) but I’ll try to participate as much as I can. Thanks for setting this up, very exciting!

  2. Willa November 12, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I really really want to join! Will post your address on my blog and will sign on with the linky as soon as you put it online.

  3. Jillian November 12, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Oooh! This looks like fun! 🙂

    Not sure I can participate, but I’ll definitely be following the discussions. The first read (for January) is on my 250 TBR List.

    I’ve got this blog linked now in my sidebar. 😉

  4. King Rat November 12, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    I’m committing to reading along with you.

  5. parrishlantern November 13, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    loved the female Eunoch & read Simone De beauvoir a while ago, & will love finding more writers to learn about.
    Thanks
    Parrish

  6. Jillian November 14, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I’m going to try to do the January read with you. (I’ll be following the whole year though.) 🙂

  7. Pingback: Presenting A Year of Feminist Classics (via A Year of Feminist Classics) « A Room of One's Own

  8. Ingrid November 14, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Can’t wait to participate!!!

  9. Niranjana (Brown Paper) November 17, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    I’ll participate sporadically, but will follow with much enthusiasm!

  10. Sasha November 18, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    I realize I am so under-educated when it comes to feminist classics. Come to think of it, I don’t even know where exactly I stand re feminism. I’ll definitely be an eager spectator — and, of course, shall read some of the books with you, budget willing!

    • amymckie December 4, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      I am very under-educated when it comes to the feminist classics as well Sasha. I read feminist books but mostly newer ones and I really don’t know much of the theory behind it all. I’m really looking forward to learning more as well. AND it was pointed out on the reading list by a kind commenter that a few of the books are available on Project Gutenberg for free so that will hopefully help with the budget 🙂

  11. dragonflyy419 November 24, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I’m extremely excited to participate and follow along with this challenge. I’ve never sat down and looked for specific feminist related writings to focus on, so I can’t wait to begin reading these works and educate myself in another style of classical literature. Thanks for doing this!

  12. Kate December 10, 2010 at 6:13 am

    Oh, yay! I’ve been wanting to do a DIY Women’s Study course of reading this next year. This is perfect! I will definitely be participating. Thanks!

  13. dangermom December 20, 2010 at 4:47 am

    I’m looking forward to this challenge, though I kind of wish you’d kept the Feminine Mystique because I’ve always meant to read it and clearly need something to make me do it! I hope I’ll be able to get all the titles–ILL is my best friend.

    • Nymeth January 1, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      You’re giving us a good reason to do this again in 2012 😉 There are so many books we wanted to include but couldn’t!

      • amymckie January 3, 2011 at 6:26 pm

        So many books Dangermom! I actually read the book over the Christmas break and am posting my review of it on the 10th over at Amy Reads – I’d love to get some discussion there if you want to come visit 🙂

  14. vvb December 28, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I signed up and looking forward to this year’s selection of books. yay!

  15. Jane-Claire January 1, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    Hi – this is great – really looking forward to it! It hits several of my new year resolutions – read more, join a book group, do something active [rather than just sitting about wishing I knew/did more] that relates to feminism!!
    Thanks for setting it up –
    J-C

  16. Giorgia January 2, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Hey! I was wondering if it’s too late to join? I’ve been meaning to read loads and think this will be the perfect opportunity!

  17. Pingback: Read: I Command It 2/01/2011 | Let's Drink Tea and Get Laid

  18. Pingback: Links of interest (3-9th January weeks) « Sinistre and Destre’s noumenal realm

Leave a comment